Anthony Hudson admits he is running out of Jeremy Howe puns

Veteran AFL commentator Anthony Hudson confessed this week that he is fast running out of puns for Melbourne youngster Jeremy Howe.

The high flying Demon rose to prominence in 2012 when he won the ‘Mark of the Year’ competition and his ability to take ‘hangers’ was on display on an almost weekly basis.

Jeremy Howe flies high against the Sydney Swans in 2012
Jeremy Howe flies high against the Sydney Swans in 2012

Hudson admits that, ‘Howe about that?’ ‘Howe good is he?!’ and ‘Howe did he do that?’ have lost their initial impact and he needs new material.

‘If Jeremy Howe continues to take spectacular marks week in week out, I am going to struggle for new angles,’ a clearly distressed Hudson said this week, ‘it may reach the stage where I simply repeat and scream the same word for thirty seconds, like I did when Buddy kicked his thirteenth goal last year against North Melbourne.  I hope it does not reach that stage,’ he confided.

Hudson at home with dog Fitzroy
Hudson at home with dog Fitzroy

Hudson disclosed that during the off season he considered withdrawing from Melbourne games, such was his distress, ‘It’s true that one stage I considered making myself unavailable for Melbourne games, however I knew that if I persevered I could come up with something.’

Hudson found an unlikely mentor during his off season soul searching, in comedian and sports journalist Billy Birmingham, best known as ‘The Twelfth Man.’  Birmingham worked with Hudson intensively over the summer and together they prepared some new material including, ‘Howe-zat!’ ‘Howe-abunga’ and ‘Holy Howe!’  Hudson revealed he is now excited at the prospect of calling Melbourne games and is particularly looking forward to their round 10 match against Hawthorn.

‘If Buddy can kick thirteen again and Howe takes a screamer or two, then I can put right some internal demons, including that awful, haunting piece of commentary from Launceston.  Maybe then Robbo will stop picking on me.’

One comment

Leave a comment